The western NSW Anglican Diocese of Bathurst covers about a third of NSW, stretching from the Blue Mountains to the Queensland border. The regional church office is in Bathurst, assisting the region's 34 Parishes.

The Anglican Church is territorially organised, with the diocese usually being the basic unit of administration.

There are seven dioceses in NSW and 23 in Australia. The Diocese of Bathurst was formed in 1870, and covers the region bordered by:

Oberon, Cowra and West Wyalong in the south, west to Cobar and Bourke, across the north-west to Coonamble and Coonabarabran, and in the east by Coolah, Mudgee and Rylstone.

The total population of this area is about 280,000, of whom about 30% are Anglicans. The cities of the region are Bathurst (three parishes), Orange (two parishes) and Dubbo. Major towns are Bourke, Cobar, Cowra, Forbes, Mudgee, Parkes and Wellington.

Recent Events & News

All Saints' College to become a fully independent Anglican School 07-Dec-2016

The All Saints' College Council and Anglican Diocese of Bathurst are pleased to announce that ne..

Remembering the ‘Martin Luther King’ of Australia09-Nov-2016

A campaign is gaining momentum in Dubbo, to formally recognise the efforts of pioneer Aboriginal..

Governance training for church office-bearers26-Oct-2016

Seminar helps church board and council members understand their roles and responsibilities ..

View more events

Our Area